top of page

Featured Monkey Series, Macy Belen - The Survivor

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” Proverbs 3-5

1. Tell us something about yourself

I am Maricel Belen Honrada, but most of my friends call me Macy or Mace. I’m turning 37 this year (I told myself I will be totally honest in answering the questions, haha), I was born and raised in Cavite, Philippines. But I currently live in Singapore and work in a Telecommunications company. I love meeting new people. I can walk up to total strangers and make new friends. I first traveled when I was 17 when I and my mom visited family members based in Korea. That same year, I insisted to leave my mom and traveled back to Philippines on my own, for the first time. (I think, even without me realizing it, that’s the “Kaladkarin” in me)


2. How did you know about the TWO MONKEYS?

Two Monkeys is all over Facebook! I have read articles about them and was inspired by their story. But more than anything, relate ako kay Kach being a brown monkey myself and having a white monkey partner Haha! (my boyfriend is an Australian). I exchanged a few chats with Kach and became actively part of Two Monkeys community. (heart heart! to all the monkeys out there!)


3. Tell us how you were before cancer took place in your life?

Living a normal OFW-life in Singapore. My life basically revolves around work, David and my small circle of friends. I enjoy travelling and I have worked and spent holidays in a number of countries. I have a travel signature pose and I do it in all the places I go.


4. Please tell us your battle against cancer

I had been feeling a lump in my right breast for a few months and I knew that there was something wrong when the sharp pain persisted. I was diagnosed with breast cancer last year after a series of tests (ultra sound, blood tests, biopsy, MRI, mammogram, bone scans etc.) I was shocked at first after which it became pretty scary! When my doctor told me that the suspicious lump was confirmed cancer, I didn’t hear the rest of the things she said after that. It was very hard to take everything in. I was dumbfounded! I didn’t even know how to react or feel at that moment. In my head I was just thinking, “Am I going to die?” But being a believer of Christ, that thought didn’t stay for too long. I told myself that my God is bigger than the big C and that everything will be alright. I was able to get my composure back and went to a brief counselling after the diagnosis. My boyfriend, David has expressed nothing but love and concern for me. If there’s one good thing that this horrible sickness brought, it made us stronger, not just as individuals, but as a couple and it made us closer to GOD more and more. I believe my faith healed me. The first Sunday after my diagnosis, our pastor made a prophecy during the service and said that people whose name starts with M will receive healing from GOD that even the doctor will be amazed and God’s name will be glorified. At that stage, we hadn’t told anyone so we were both in tears as we received and claimed God’s promise. Additionally, according to the physician, there were suspicious tiny lumps in my left breast that were picked up from my last MRI scan. I was scheduled to do another MRI guided biopsy for this breast even before I underwent right breast mastectomy but it was cancelled for some reason. I knew at that time, God was already working on me. The doctor ordered another ultra-sound but they couldn’t find anything anymore in my left breast. God is truly amazing. We became more prayerful. David would pray for me while walking on the street, in the train, in a cab, before we went to sleep or just whenever I was physically and emotionally down. God listens and God hears our prayers.

5. When you found out you were sick, what were you major worries/regret that you wished you have done?

To be honest, I was scared of going through chemo and losing my hair. I was worried about going to work without hair. I was worried to travel without hair, I remember telling David to buy me a nice wig to wear to Paris and London! Haha! We are planning a trip this year and it became one of my motivations to get well. I was scared to die. I was scared for myself and for my family. But then you just know that you have to fight it and I did.


6. Who/what is you rock/ wonder wall all throughout your battle?

GOD – My Greatest Physician

My boyfriend David, our families, our friends – for their prayers, love and support

My Two Monkeys Travel Community – for keeping me happy, inspired and excited with all your positive energy!



7. What is the major lesson you have learned from your battle? (Tell us your life realizations)

1, Life is too short, so wake up each morning with the thought that something great is about to happen.

2. Be a little kinder than necessary. We never know when someone is fighting her own battle too

3. If you want to do something, do it NOW. Don’t wait until its too late.

4. Have fun and enjoy life.


8. How are you right now?

My surgery has been successful! No detectable spread of cancer. I am still in the process of my reconstructive surgery so one more operation left to put the implant in but overall I am very well! I may not be physically 100% yet but I am feeling emotionally and spiritually whole! I am now cancer-free!


9. This is already your second life, what are your life goals now?

I want to learn a new language, it could be spanish, italian,french or german and be able to converse in that language. I want to travel more. I think this time, traveling will have a deeper meaning to it. Actively participate in a breast cancer support group. And make my breast cancer battle be a testimony about God’s healing power.


10. What is your message to the world and to those people who are currently battling against cancer?

Every weakness we have is an opportunity for GOD to show His strength in our lives. Trust Him. Have faith. Never give up and fight the battle! Surround yourself with positive, loving, people who encourage you, inspire you and those who make you happy. Don’t look sick! I had my lashes extension done before my surgery and wore red lipstick that helped me brighten up my day.




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page